Bacne!

aid6757-v4-728px-Get-Rid-of-Bacne-Step-6-Version-3

If you type ‘bacne’ into a search engine you would find a large number of articles about how to remove it with specific remedies and products; but what really is it other than acne on your back. After conducting research into this for the past couple of weeks I have found it’s extremely common and it’s a form of acne mechanica (acne that anyone can get).

What Causes it?

It can be caused when heat & sweat is trapped against the body and when your skin is irritated by friction. This therefore can be triggered from wearing tight clothes (even a backpack). For myself however it appears it’s mainly genetic, from my dad who also suffers from this.

My Experience

For years and years I have suffered from this but not until recently has it been this bad that the spots are truly inflamed and painful. This led me to try multiple different products; Neutrogena Body Clear Body Wash, Lush’s Mask of Magnaminty Self-Perserving Face & Body Mask The Body Shop’s Tea Tree Skin Clearing Body Wash. (I have tried these products for the past 3 months).

Neutrogena

6801750_320x385

I tried this product a couple of months ago, and I did really enjoy using this body wash. This has a lovely scent and is really easy to apply. However, I did find with this that my skin got use to it extremely quick; which meant my spots were no longer calming down or leaving my back after a while of using it. The other bad aspect of this, is the price. As it’s not sold in retail shops the only places I can find this is either eBay or Amazon – meaning the price ranges from £7 – £13.

 

Lush

05233

I heard about this product from my housemate – she adores Lush products and hugely recommended this for me to try on my back. As you can see in the picture below she let me borrow hers for a try. I must say it was rather odd to have a conventional face mask on my back. My back did feel really good after I removed the mask, but the one major downfall is that you would need someone tfullsizeoutput_d1co apply this for you and once it’s on you can’t move for a good 20 minutes.  (I turned and nearly got it all on my housemates sheets). This again is another pricey product, with it coming in at £11.50.

Body Shop

tea-tree-skin-clearing-body-wash-2-640x640

I have used this for the last couple of weeks and fallen in love! This has not only reduced my bacne but it has left me back feeling cleansed. The cleanser can be used in the shower and smells fresh – which is what everyone wants from a shower gel. The Body Shop product is the cheapest product out of the three with it coming in at £7 (and is also usually on a 3 for 2 offer). Leading from this review, it’s my favourite product and I will definitely continue to purchase. I will say it hasn’t removed all the spots from my back but it has reduced any pain and redness.

TOP TIP

Cleanse your back after you have washed your hair. The ingredients in shampoo & conditioner can make bacne worse. So make sure all of the said products are washed away, as they aren’t meant for your body just your hair!

Please let me know if any of you reading this post suffers from the same problem. It would be great to hear your remedies and how you handle it.

Char x

Leave a Reply

